Because computers don't fix themselves

“Sara commented on your photo.”

Here’s the next big e-mail scam:

In your e-mail inbox arrives a message that appears that it’s from Facebook. And it says “Sara commented on your photo.” The e-mail looks like this:

Sara commented on your photo.

Sara wrote:
“like likeelikee likee this photo ”

Reply to this email to comment on this photo.

To see the comment thread, follow the link below:

http://www.facebook.com/n/?photo.php&pid=295038&id=1704181049&mid=2d68770G6593bd39G80875fG9&n_m=

Thanks,
The Facebook Team

___
Find people from your Windows Live Hotmail address book on Facebook! Go to: http://www.facebook.com/find-friends/?ref=email

This message was intended for. If you do not wish to receive this type of email from Facebook in the future, please follow the link below to unsubscribe.

http://www.facebook.com/o.php?k=d4ba22&u=1704181049&mid=2d68770G6593bd39G80875fG9

Facebook, Inc. P.O. Box 10005, Palo Alto, CA 94303

You have to be savvy, but if you hover over the links WITHOUT clicking on them, you’ll see that they don’t take you to facebook at all. But, rather, to a site that tries to make money by having you send text messages or clicking on ads.

This is a classic bait/switch tactic that has been around for a long time. But, this one is brilliant, because everyone is excited to go see when they get a comment on one of their facebook photos.

What’s even worse is when the link takes you to a virused website, or a phishing scam. For example, a site the looks just like facebook (but isn’t), so that you type your user name and password into it, and then they have your facebook user name / password. You might think, “so what? So they post a message in my name.” Wrong. Most people use the same password for everything. If you have one major password, like Facebook, you probably have e-mail password and bank password, too.

Beware of scams like this. ALWAYS copy and paste a link into your browser rather than clicking from e-mails. Be safe!